Relationships...Oh boy

K

Kaiser

Original poster
Being in a relationship with another that surpasses friendship...we have all had one, many more than one. I in particular have had 2. One lasted 9 months, the other 3. I won't sit here and say that they have taught me everything to know about relationships. They combine to make just 1 year. I have learned many things from them. Sadly both were quite horrible break ups, and led to some nasty aftermath. I do not blame the other completely. It takes two to tango. Whether it is getting together or breaking up. I had my faults, as did the other. I am a freshman in college, still young like many on here. I have a whole life ahead of me. I strive day in and day out to work for what I want. I am currently at a stand still with what I believe I want to do, but my point remains. I think the biggest thing I've taken out of my relationships is...woah! Slow down! I had myself convinced that in order to progress in life, I needed to be with someone. A pretty ugly theory. As I mentioned, I am young, Im 19. It has taken me untill now to discover what I believe is my life's truth. What I mean is I want to work towards my goals before I commit myself. I don't mean marriage or anything like that. I want to have a wife, and children. I love the idea of being a father. That can all wait, being with someone can wait. That is the truth I have finally found. If I am to get into something serious with someone else, then yes I will reassess my priorities. I don't ever want to forget my goals, however.

What I am trying to say is to me, you don't have to rush out and find your one true love so early. I don't think it's healthy really. I want to get a degree in whatever I plan to, and stride for a job. To me that's when I feel like settling down is right. Im not saying I won't find someone prior, the world is random. This may seem rather obvious to some, but I felt like sharing my ideas to you fine people.