Opinions on fireworks

• So many newbies lately! Here is a very important PSA about one of our most vital content policies! Read it even if you are an ancient member!

Sorrelfur

Hufflepuff on the streets, Slytherin in the sheets
Original poster
STAFF MEMBER
FOLKLORE MEMBER
Invitation Status
  1. Looking for partners
Posting Speed
  1. Multiple posts per day
  2. 1-3 posts per day
  3. One post per day
  4. 1-3 posts per week
Writing Levels
  1. Give-No-Fucks
  2. Elementary
  3. Intermediate
  4. Adaptable
Preferred Character Gender
  1. Male
  2. Primarily Prefer Male
Genres
Romance, Yaoi, Modern, Slice of Life, Omegaverse, etc
I'm curious how people feel about fireworks, I know us in the USA have been dealing with them for probably a week now 😂 It's my first time living in town and seeing how bad the fireworks are here. People have been arguing to ban them, etc. So I wanted to open up a discussion about it

Few things people broke up locally was people setting off mortars and artillery shells. Yup idk if this is normal in other states but it's huge here, makes it sound like a war zone. Personally I think these should be banned as I don't see the point? And someone pointed out how bad these in particular must be for veterans with ptsd

Aerial fireworks, I personally find this pretty and fun BUT the lack of safety when using them is getting concerned. Locally we've had a person trampoline burned by someone else's firework landing on it and a woman's house catching on fire for the same reason, her dog died in the fire. And countless other fires. I love fireworks but it's really becoming a matter of are we even smart enough in general to use them?

And last complaint people have is how long fireworks go. Here they start 3 days early and end 3 days after the 4th. I personally don't mind them going for a few days but I hate how they go til 4am 🙃 on weeknights, as alot of us work early and it's a killer being kept up