Natural Remedies That Actually Work

• Thread starter Laggy Lagiacrus
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Laggy Lagiacrus

Original poster
So, natural remedies. Those things that some weird-smelling hippy makes my mashing a few leaves up in a bowl. While their effectiveness can be debated, there are a few that actually work.

Has anyone here had any unconventional cures? The kind of stuff that you're not going to find on a pharmacy shelf? Because I'd really like to know. No, seriously, I'll take any advice I can get if people can back it up.

I'll start us off with something I've been doing for the past two years. Honey for hayfever, that is. One teaspoon of locally-produced honey a day for a year, and your body gets used to the pollen. It doesn't cure it, and it must be continued every day to be effective each year. However, it does suppress the worst of it, in my experience.
But it has to be local honey. Not any of that mass-produced, squeezed-from-a-bottle stuff. Local honey, made by bees in your area, or as close to it as possible.

• Love
Reactions: EchoFT and Fijoli
I don't get hiccups often, thank the Lord!, but when I do, they're bad. I found a home remedy online that said to take a teaspoon of sugar and swallow it dry. Always works for me.

Reactions: Fijoli
Despite what may or may not be believed about acupressure, I've found it to be very effective at treating various ailments. The only hump most people can never get over is the fact that you have to sit there and apply it for several minutes. People would like it if you could poke a few places and be done with it, but as pills work constantly, so must you.

Reactions: Fluffy and Fijoli
Dicing garlic, waiting 10 minutes to let the oxygen hit the garlic, stir it into honey, is supposed to help prevent infection and promote a faster healing process on open wounds to your feet and burns. Yes I have tried it before and it's less sticky with the use of Q-tips.