Life Decisions

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

Halo

Original poster
'Kay, so it's not often I ask for advice, but I'm in somewhat of a bind over this and thought I may as well get some opinions from you lovely lot. This is gonna be a bit long-winded, but there's a lot of relevant information I've got to explain, so bear with me.

As some of you know, I'm currently studying at Imperial College London. QS ranked it the 2nd top uni in the world this year, on par with Cambridge and MIT. You'd think this would be a good thing.

Unfortunately, not so much. See, as a Scottish student I could have gone to any Scottish uni for free. Going to university in England (e.g. Imperial) costs £9000 (~$13.5k) a year. Additionally, Imperial is in one of the most expensive residential areas in the world - Kensington, London. Financially, achieving this was going to be a huge fucking issue, but I calculated it would be just about possible if I worked summers and during term time from 2nd year onwards.

At the time of deciding which offers to accept, I really wanted to go into research. Going to the best university possible was a logical choice, as it would give me a massive edge when applying for PhD positions. So despite the fact that it would put me £60k (~$90k) in debt to the government and result in a pretty shitty, frugal quality of life, I decided to go to Imperial. It also relied on me succeeding in applying for living in halls every year - if I ever failed to earn a place as a Warden, I'd be screwed because rent is so stupidly high in the area.
It also meant moving away from my family and friends, almost all of whom were going to uni together in Glasgow or were staying in Edinburgh, where I live.