From Scratch !

• So many newbies lately! Here is a very important PSA about one of our most vital content policies! Read it even if you are an ancient member!
C

Closer

Original poster
Right, at the age of 19 I have NO experience in drawing. But I want to draw my own characters for my RP ideas !

I will attempt to learn how to draw characters in an 'Anime' Style, From scratch.
Wish me luck ! I will post pictures of different attempts....

~HoldMeCloser

Day/Night #1:

As I suspected, there is a knack to drawing, and it doesn't come just because you want it. Here's some first try's, Sanji was a step by step which is basically just sketching so that doesn't count, but that is the art style I want to be able to draw in eventually!

The other ones are from using a mix of guides and walk through video's. Got to start somewhere but I'm struggling with proportion I think. Still, you live and learn.

img_0125_1__by_owenlearnstosketch-d6eodtg.jpg

img_0126_1__by_owenlearnstosketch-d6eoe6u.jpg

img_0127_1__by_owenlearnstosketch-d6eoekk.jpg

Day #2: So Mark Crilley is amazing ! I know this doesn't count as me drawing my own as such, but this is much closer to the style I want to draw in ! Here is the link i used to draw this !

img_0128_1__by_owenlearnstosketch-d6eqvit.jpg

Reactions: TiedInBone
WIP trying to draw features without following a video.

img_0130_1__by_owenlearnstosketch-d6ernaw.jpg

Finished first attempt of drawing my own Idea, (On Skype with TiedInBone for pointers.) Having trouble getting the features in proportion but its a start ! :D

img_0131_1__by_owenlearnstosketch-d6err6b.jpg

Night #2:

So this is my first attempt at drawing something closer to the style I like from scratch ! I based the style from the video I watched by Mark Crilley, but i changed the features, angle and hairstyle. I am quite proud of this one !

img_0132_1__by_owenlearnstosketch-d6etf9a.jpg

Practicing using the same face, but changing certain aspects, mainly the hair.