Friends with exes

D

Darxaia

Original poster
Has anyone ever successfully managed to be good friends with an ex of theirs? Tell me your story and things that you think made it easier/ harder for that friendship to occur.

Perhaps in a few posts I might share my story.

I tried to keep on mostly good terms with my exes and the ones I don't talk to are more from drifting apart than not parting on pleasant terms!

I just recently spent a bit of time with a guy I dated very briefly when I was a freshman. We haven't talked much over the years, but he ended up back in town and we still get along fine, so we went and had coffee together.

A better example is someone that I had a long-distance relationship with. We get along amazingly well and I count him as one of the people that I go to when I need advice, because he really gets me. We just weren't in the right place for the relationship and we both made mistakes. We were a little wounded for a bit, but we were honestly just too fantastic as friends to stay upset. This was a couple years ago and we still talk! He's a super fantastic human being, even despite his flaws. It was difficult at first, yeah, but we knew more about one another than pretty much anyone else at that time did and we were such close friends while we were dating that it was hard to be without my best friend, even for the little bit of time where we weren't talking. It gets easier over time and the friendship I have with him was definitely worth getting over the awkwardness of the breakup. It's possible, I swear!

It was definitely made easier by taking a little time away to cool down and remember that I missed our friendship incredibly and that he was worth staying friends with. Just trying to act natural and "faking it till you make it" also helped. Just forging forward through the awkward and working at making it a working friendship was hard, but important.

I had a rather short relationship with a girl I met once.