Expanding your Vocabulary

• So many newbies lately! Here is a very important PSA about one of our most vital content policies! Read it even if you are an ancient member!
A

Aleina

Original poster
Ever have trouble finding replacements for the repetitive words you use in your writing? I'm sure everyone does. I know I do, and its frustrating.

I work at an elementary school and serve as a special ed assistant. The other day, the class went to the computer lab to practice typing and I watched as the students played typing games on a website called funtotype.com. I love to type and the games looked very appealing, so when I got home I tried it out for myself. Among these games is a game called Clockwords and the moment I started playing, I was addicted.

The thing that's cool about this game is that you have to come up with words based on the letters it gives you. You don't necessarily have to use all the letters it gives you but the more you use, the more points you get. It's fast-paced, so you have to be a quick typer, and since this game is technically a typing game, it's sure to improve your typing speed.

The reason I wanted to share this game with you is that because the game is so fast-paced, you're sort of forced to fling at the board the first words that come to mind, and the words I was choosing were words that I very rarely use in my writing. But I knew they were words, so even though I didn't know the meaning to some of them, I still typed them in for points. Here's a quick list of words that I had come up with:

coyness, euphemism, moderate, motivation, audacity, simplicity, salvation, nuance, ludicrous, asunder, symbolism, hone, venture, rigid, composure, dominate