Anime Concepts That You've Never Seen

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Razilin

Original poster
I have to admit, I've been lagging on my anime viewership for the last, oh, 5-6 years. Largely because I feel I've seen these concepts and themes before. Like, back in the late 1980s and early 1990s when I first got exposed to anime.

Hell, I've even seen SAO and Log Horizon back when it was still called Dot Hack (not that Dot Hack is at all a good example of the stuck-in-an-MMO subgenre).

Then I ran into this video by Gigguk:

And I have to admit, I'd watch the hell out of an anime based around eSports and especially a shounen shared universe team up, Avengers-style.

Holy FUCK, would I watch the shit out of an Avengers team up of Goku (DBZ), Ichigo (Bleach), Luffy (One Piece), Naruto (Naruto), and pretty much any combination of shounen heroes. If only for the novelty.

Personally? My shared anime universe team up would've included Himura Kenshin (Rurouni Kenshin), Zero!Berserker (Fate/Zero), Riza Hawkeye (Full Metal Alchemist), and Roger Smith (The Big O).

And eSports as an anime concept? Holy crap, that'd be the only sports anime I'd ever watch!

What novel anime concepts can you think up?

A modern day well funded anime set in a cyberpunk or science fiction setting which is, in no way, sexually exploitative.

giphy.gif

In all seriousness though, an anime with the premise of Sliders could be neat as fuck. Since they could go to alternative timelines every couple episodes and the field of animation could get them explore basically anything they want--alternative physics, alternative colour schemes, alternative animation styles, alternative dominant species, et cetera. Basically just let artists go nuts and give writers the "alternate timeline gadget" button to let them go wherever they want.

Anime needs more dinosaurs, to be honest.

More Crime Thriller anime. Heck add a supernatural element to it ala Baccano! if you need to.