You wake up as a synthetic being. No one believes you are sentient.

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

FiliaFlammae

Original poster
All right, here's the gist! Sci-fi, far future, humans have made friends with a few alien races by this point, etc. One company primarily known for consumer robotics plans to release a new line of cute, petlike robot companions that are supposedly made from synthetic organic tissue (instead of wires and plastic) and lauded as the first large-scale simulation of life. The twist? They aren't robots at all, but rather the product of inhumane genetic experiments. You're one of the prototypes.

This is my first time hosting an RP of this scale and I want to make sure I'm doing it right, so I'd appreciate not just expressed interest in the premise but any answers you can give to a few questions...

1. I thought it would be nice to allow people to play a scientist or a customer interested in the "robots" if they would rather do that than play a robot. For the sake of keeping the RP organized, is that a good idea or bad idea?
  2. This RP is based on a consistent sci-fi world of my own, which is why there are a few alien species present at the point in time that the RP takes place. But while I have the backstory fleshed out, the fact that there are aliens doesn't really have anything to do with the robots' story. Should I provide my alien races as presets, allow for people to make their own alien races for the story, or just write them out completely and make it a human world?
  3. I draw, but I have limited time to do so. Is providing character artwork for all non-humans biting off way more than I can chew?
  4. There will be character death. I plan to allow people to tell me any plans they had for their character to help keep the story on track and make sure no one gets killed off that the player really doesn't want to get killed off. Good idea?