Writing a character of nonbinary gender?

C

CassieDrey

Original poster
Hello! I am in need of some help~

I am a fantasy author, and I am currently working on a fantasy series. In this series, I've decided to have a nonbinary character. However, I am cis, and I was hoping I could speak with one (or more) nonbinary people about their experiences, as well as how I should build this character.

I've already done quite a bit of research on nonbinary genders, but I don't know enough to fully flesh out the character, and I definitely think I should talk to people about their experiences and such in order to portray them accurately.

Also, please know that I don't want to give too much away on this series for the sake of intellectual security (the first novel for this series is in editing right now so I have to be careful about what I post online or my head editor will murder me hahaha "^^), and because I wouldn't want to ruin the story if anyone who reads this wants to check it out. Therefore, I can't give away certain spoilers.

So, some basic things:

~Because this is speculative fiction, I can portray things with a fantastical angle, and I definitely think their gender would factor into this, to a degree. I want to discuss this at length, and any ideas regarding this are welcome.
~I am not yet sure specifically what nonbinary gender (genderfluid, agender, etc etc) I would like this character to be, or if I should define that at all.
~Mages are a marginalized group in my story, and this character is a mage. I think this should be talked about, as well.

Basic things about the character (thus far):

~Their name is Tomi Nakamura. They are my fantasy world's equivalent to Japanese.
~They are a shapeshifter mage, and this is important to the plot (I want to expand/play with this idea in relation to their gender).