Stranger
Original poster
FOLKLORE MEMBER
Posting Speed
  1. 1-3 posts per day
Writing Levels
  1. Advanced
Genres
War, Horror, Dark, Psychological, Medieval/Ancient, 19th Century, Crossovers, Dysoptian, Fluff, Cyberpunk & Steampunk
This might be a bit of a simple discussion, but I think it is one that is important.

I've been RPing for about seven years now, and I can almost guarantee I'll be RPing when I'm 18. I have ambitions to be a writer eventually, hopefully for a script within a team or just as a freelancer. Lately, however, I've always wondered why exactly I'm still RPing. Granted, yes, it is practice for developing characters on my own as well as entire worlds, but it isn't necessary exactly. I could easily accomplish this by reading a book or, in fact, just writing stories that appear on my mind.

So, I guess what I'm really asking is this...why do you RP? And not only that, but what keeps you RPing?

It's fun! And it keeps me writing. Plus it constantly exposes me to other peoples' styles, views, and ideas, which keeps me from stagnating

Reactions: LunaValentine
What MinBin said.

It's fun.

Lately I've been in a terrible slump. Even avoiding the site just to avoid replying to the few RPs I've had. Leaves a bad taste in my mouth. But when it comes to writing a reply, everything feels mediocre, which I don't want to post.

Roleplaying is fun, creative and just gives me something to do to help pass time. It also allows you to make new friends as you meet like-minded people on here! I've been a roleplayer for almost 3 years now and I've met some amazing people during that time. I've had a lot of fun and have definitely improved my writing skills.

Because I like to type. RPing is just a constructive way of doing such.