What's your favorite art medium?

I really like...

• Pastels (chalk or oil)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Ink (roller ball, felt or fountain pens)

• Markers

• Makeup

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Melpothalia

Original poster
Traditionally, I love ink and markers. Which is a bummer since I lost a lot of my copics and tech pens when I went to the military. I've been wanting to build up my collection again but holy hell those things jumped in price since I last got 'em. They're damn near 10 dollars a piece where I'm at. I'm a broke vet and a college student, I ain't got time for inflation and stuff. A few friends have recommended promarkers to me so I might need up giving those a shot when I collect enough funds.

Anyway, I also really like ink. Particularly Tombow and Zebra brush pens, Staelder pens and Pentel hi-tec C pens. Seriously, if you're ever looking for a ballpoint pen with the thinnest, smoothest flow go for hi-tec C pens.

When it comes to wet media, I'm really feelin' acrylic paints. I get a lot of crap for it (specially from my mentor) since they're not very blendable or subtle, but for me that's the point. The boldness makes it easier to replicate my art style. I still stick with oils for still life and portraits, though.

And makeup! A lot of folks don't consider that an art medium but that's because they're not thinking hard enough.

So, what do you guys to use?

I love it all, I use it all, IF I can afford it. I've practiced every medium and know techniques for all Mediums with maybe a few of my own tacked on.

My best works have used mediums are Graphite sticks/Ink, A paintbrush with All Paint types.​

In my youth I would use clay. I was told I was quite good. I enjoyed drawing and painting, too, but I prefer soft clay to shape or stone to chip away at. I no longer do these things and I am told that is quite bad. I have my reasons why I no longer do it.