Twenty-one Things I Wish I'd Known as a Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Revision

Original poster
Twenty-one Things I Wish I'd Known as a Newbie

I started roleplaying at age fourteen in a crowded chatroom filled with so many people that you usually had to wait for space to get in. Most of the chatters were just chatters, most of the RP was silly, and the serious RP was something far different from what I am used to now. When there was RP, it was easy enough to make mistakes without a mentor to guide me. Yes, I was a newbie. I was the newbie that people wanted to throw chairs at because I had NO RP experience, had lived a sheltered life, and generally believed that honesty, loud honesty, was the best policy.

As I grew up, I went from RP situation to RP situation, finding myself new to everything time and again. People in this new place did things differently from people in that new place. There were different posting expectations some places, and live tabletop games were a whole new bucket of confusion. I learned. I learned over and over again, sometimes only the surface things, sometimes everything I could get my hands on. (I still have to refer to DnD manuals when playing that particular game; there is just so much to know!) Sometimes, I had teachers. Sometimes, I was all alone to figure things out.

Over the years, I realized that some things translated universally or near universally and others did not. There were things I should have known from the beginning, but some of them took me years to learn. This, therefore, is a list of things I wish I had known as a newbie, both pertaining to roleplay and to general interaction.

1) Everywhere is different. There are going to be different rules, even for the same sort of game. When in doubt, be sure you know the house rules. Don't think that, just because you are used to roleplaying on World of Warcraft, you are going to know just what to do on a shiny new forum. Read the rules!