The Wild World

R

Revision

Original poster
The Wild World

Discuss, ponder, and ask for advice on creatures, primitive cultures and languages, and tribal societies. Link useful resources or interesting articles.

Seventh Sanctum has a boatload of useful generators, but their Beings and Creatures category is especially helpful for getting ideas for humanoid races.

Re: Languages

Did you know that a large amount of the world's languages use some form of "mama" and "papa"? That's because they're some of the easiest words for babies to say - you don't need teeth! So if your humanoid characters' babies are saying "zvritch" as their first words, You're Doing It Wrong! Anything else? ;) I'm not a language expert, but I love languages and I'll be keeping an eye on this thread. Let's talk languages!

Reactions: 1 person

Having everyone speak a common language, while easier is usually unrealistic. While there's nothing wrong with not creating words, it still should be noted that people A speak a different language then people B. bonus points if you say people C speak a "corrupt" version of Bs language. Unless you're talking to C people who say its Bs who have degraded theirs.

Also dead languages are not only fun just for prophecies and old libraries!

When it comes to naming places and things I use rare languages (or languages not commonly seen) such as Estonian, Ukrainian, Icelandic, Azeri etc etc. I've found that the spelling styles of Latvian and Lithuanian are very...unique which lend themselves well to alien names!

When trying to find a name for my world Revi said to use anagrams and she was right. Put some words together then make some non-sense anagrams and you can come up with some amazing names. Also I found this word mixer. http://unique-names.com/word-mixer.php

I have certain languages that I've associated with certain races for naming customs and bits of words. It actually started with Warcraft (don't judge me! D:<)

Humans: Old English