CHARACTERS COMBAT WORLDBUILDING WRITING MAGIC The pitfalls of poor writing/Roleplay and other observations

Spooder Queen

Spooder Queen
Original poster
FOLKLORE MEMBER
Invitation Status
  1. Look for groups
  2. Looking for partners
Posting Speed
  1. 1-3 posts per day
  2. One post per day
  3. Multiple posts per week
  4. 1-3 posts per week
Writing Levels
  1. Advanced
Preferred Character Gender
  1. Female
  2. Nonbinary
Genres
Fantasy, High fantasy
As a roleplayer and writer, I follow a simple rule, I ask myself a question, a basic question. "What do they eat?" If any fictional society is too remain mildly believable it is important to showcase how the basic functions work. While the reader doesn't need to know the housing market, things like food, water, basic work available, and their cultural way of life are vital points that must be addressed or hinted at. The next biggest hurdle is consistency. I can suspend my disbelief that Supermans eye lasers can hurt someone, but, if they suddenly cure cancer, I will feel betrayed or insulted as a reader. This is why large sections of the Star wars community do not like the new trilogy. This also happened to GOT with the teleporting around and out of character/unearned actions.

Also, your characters must have faults. Both in terms of powers, but more importantly, personality. No one likes reading about, or watching a character who is beyond broken with no inherent struggles to endure. It makes them unappealing and not marketable. Lastly, the heroes journey troupe is vital. The audience needs to see your character progress. This is why making a new RP character who is already an anime protagonist at the final arc on day one will tarnish 98% of plots. If you can easily one-shot 99% of threats, there is no tension, no stakes, and your partner and readers will be bored.