• Start date

Do you like face claims

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

EndlessStarlight

Original poster
Okay, so I am an artist and before I started drawing my own characters and even sometimes now I just used reference pics I found on google images for my role plays. Now, one thing that I have noticed that always just kinda bugged me, not made me mad and especially not a deal breaker for a rp, was the use of face claim where people choose very popular characters or celebrities for their character's physical appearance. For me, this was distracting, as when I looked at a person's character I just saw Ellen Paige or some popular anime character and not the character the other person had created. This, of course, is just my opinion and I wanted to discuss and hear other people's opinions on the matter, especially if you are on the other side of the coin!

I hope you have a nice day wherever you are!

I honestly don't know whether I like face claims or not. I was conditioned to accept them on another host that now I'm just like "meh" unless they're faces I seriously dislike (i.e. justin beiber) or face ship (i.e. ian x nina, damon x elena) which I don't go around spreading my opinion about those sorts of things, I just feel strongly opposed towards face shipping and certain faces. I usually try to stick to underused fcs though, because the stigma of popular faces is frustrating for me as a writer, in my experience, because people like to hog popular faces or face ship them and pics is the only reason two characters will be the best together and blah blah blah. I haven't seen this kind of mentality on here (which is awesome) but I've seen it on another host and it's just... like why? Why do the faces matter so much more than the character? This is just me though.