Studying Foreign Languages

R

Ray

Original poster
The topic is pretty broad in a sense. Share your experiences learning and studying foreign languages, share websites and videos that helped you learn, tell us what kind of languages you want to learn and study, etc.

I hope to become fluent in Japanese, German, French, Korean, Swedish, Italian, and Gaelic. It's a lot, but there are people out there that can speak way more than what I have listed down as the languages I want to learn and speak. Over my two years in high school, I studied Japanese and found this website helpful. My Japanese teacher even approved of it!

Reactions: Torsty
Took four years of French in high school, left for college with little recollection of the language. Currently taking my second semester of Japanese!

I've been wonderfully surprised to find Japanese is a pretty easy language to learn.

Ah ha, finally a topic where I can brag!

I'm pretty good at learning languages; I seem to 'get' them instinctively. I actually started off with three mother languages because my family is rather widespread - Czech, Slovak and Polish - and I'm also fluent in English, Russian, Spanish and now I'm studying Japanese. Well, 'studying' isn't the right word because I'm mostly neglecting my studies because of university and laziness, but still. I also know some bits of Magyar and I want to learn that language sometime, if only because it seems so wildly different/difficult and the sound of it amuses me. As for my methods, I always learn basics off some random website and then I move to books/movies in the language I'm currently studying. It's actually fairly entertaining that way! Though I almost died while reading The Crime and Punishment in Russian.

japanese was the most useless language to learn

everyone in japan knows enough english

all the signs are in gibberish, but i just asked the people standing under the sign where to go

plus side, i can play import games

go me?