Short-sighted Decisions

Discussion in 'THREAD ARCHIVES' started by Halo, Mar 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. (TL;DR: What are some decisions you've made that seemed good at the time but later, with the wisdom of more of life experience, seemed very short-sighted?)

I'm currently looking for a place to live during my next academic year, and I'm realising that my decision of uni was a really short-sighted decision.

Now, my logic at the time was sound. I could have gone to Edinburgh, which is a world-class university, for free as I'm a Scottish student. But I had the opportunity to go to Imperial, and as my academics are very important to me and my aspiration was to go into research I felt I needed to get the best degree possible. At the time Imperial was 5th worldwide, and now it's 2nd - Edinburgh is and was 17th or so. The problem was that Imperial would cost me £9000 a year tuition plus much higher living costs. I decided to take the plunge, reasoning that the £60000 of debt would be paid off in the long run by the extra value of my degree.

And then we get to looking for properties for next year. And oh my fucking days, guys, I knew the area was expensive but I never realised how poor I was compared to my fellow students until now. I've just looked it up, and the area Imperial is in is one of the most expensive in the world. I don't have 200 fucking quid a week for rent not including bills. That £60000 figure is looking extraordinarily naive now. I might have an "out", as my application to be a staff member of one of the halls next year was successful - meaning I can get a room that digs deeply into but doesn't completely clear out any meagre savings I have. But that still leaves two years after that.