Self-Inserts

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Evan Pen

Original poster
Disclaimer: This is my first time writing any sort of lecture/guide/educational thing of any type for roleplaying and since most thing I write this length are rants, I apologize for any tendency to ramble on or anything I missed. Comments are appreciated in regards to how I could improve this, and overall

Self-Inserts

"Self-insertion is a literary device in which a character who is the real author of a work of fiction appears as a character within that fiction, either overtly or in disguise."

What is a Self-Insert?
As stated above, self-insertion is a literary device and is actually used my multiple authors and sometimes to good effect, in published literature or even the stories people post online. A self-insert is the character in question, then— the author's character. Self-inserts can also appear in roleplays.

Now, from personal experience I know that there are multiple people who react badly to the idea of someone using a self-insert—it's the point of roleplay to act as another character? To pretend? To use your imagination? Won't they become a…. *glances around* Mary-Sue!?

Differences Between Self Inserts and Author Surrogates
"As a literary technique, an author surrogate is a fictional character based on the author."

Now, this is where we can take a moment to think: If a self-insert is the author, just put into the story and an author surrogate is based on the author, where's the difference?

It can be a blurry line, but it's likely that in many ways that you probably have, or have in the past, used at least one author surrogate. And if you haven't, you probably have at least one character who shares a lot of your views, thoughts, and personality traits to the point that there's a possibility that they could be considered one.