Retroactive Photography

P

Poe Dameron

Original poster
Welcome to Retroactive Photography!

As an introduction, I have been an avid photographer for about seven years, starting from point and shoot, progressing to DSLRs, and currently my photographic medium is divided between DSLR and iPhone, depending on the situation. I've meant to start a thread here but didn't want to go with a plan vanilla photography thread, so I've stumbled upon a fun concept I'll call retroactive photography.

My goal, for this new year of 2016, is to show either a photo I've taken that looks like it could be from an earlier era and made to look so even more so by use of filters, or a photo that looks definitely of this modern era but made to look "ironically" like it was from an earlier time. The work will fall under those two extreme cases, and I'll start from the earliest photos of the year and work towards later, as long as I can (or as long as the interest in this holds me). So that said, I hope you enjoy the photography presented here.

E37F5ED1-AE29-40E9-9E54-0AFD4472BAE8_zpsyaeazu6v.jpg

Date: January 3

Place: Baguio, Philippines

The old World War II jeeps, transformed into what is still knows as "jeepneys", always lend a great look into the times of long ago. Combined with the setting of a city that hasn't changed too much appearance-wise since the 1980s, it makes an easy but great first entry into this exhibit.

• Bucket of Rainbows
Reactions: Mari
5E4A3C8C-9F7E-4ABF-B0CE-2297578E4ACE_zpsqrh39mri.jpg

Date: January 3

Place: Manila, Philippines

A little challenging to make the most modern part of the Republic of the Philippines look older, but a de-emphasis on the tall shiny buildings and electronic billboards can accomplish a lot!

15150019-B35E-4808-A5DD-2694AD48190A_zpsvjjtkbv9.jpg

Date: January 4

Place: Incheon, South Korea