Quietly panicking over here.

• Thread starter Stained-Glass Wings
  • Start date
S

Stained-Glass Wings

Original poster
I'm not a new writer, but I'm new to RP. I'm in two multi-para 1x1s right now, and everyone takes their time responding. (Multi-para meaning all the posts are a solid page long.) I wanted to try a group RP, so I joined one, but I hadn't realized then that all of the others are very advanced. I told the GM I'm a beginner, and he let me stay in anyway. (I was kinda hoping he'd tell me no, so I could leave. :P ) I'm afraid I'm gonna wreck their groove...

Also, they do dialogue on skype. (This is because the length and response time are equal to that of my 1x1s.) I think I could manage the normal posts alright. Multi-para is how I'm used to writing. However, I've never, ever done serious roleplay through chat. I don't have much chatroom experience at all. Tips for not making a fool of myself?

Is there a way to do that at all in this situation? :P

I thought most chat RPs are done with one-liners. Are you saying the Skype dialogues are also multi-para?

Honestly, I'm not sure...I think they're no more than one paragraph, though. What I meant was that they skype the dialogue and work it into their posts in the group RP, which is multi-para like the 1x1s.

"Ah, I see. Chat's just like what we're doing right now." :D

Why not wait for the others to post and follow their lead? :}

Reactions: 2 people
So there's no, like, secret etiquitte that's different from forum business, then? Good!

I'm gonna try to follow their lead. :P I suppose the worst that could happen is they ask me to leave and I don't have to worry about it anymore.

Be yourself and write as naturally as you can; only practice will help you get used to it and be able to know what to expect.