Naming Ourselves

K

Kitti

Original poster
-ChFaoJFQYo.jpg

[size=+1]
If there were no "traditional" names bestowed at birth, if there were no names given without meaning, Andrews and Jessicas, what name do you think you would have?

This scenario will sometimes happen with children who grow up without parental figures. They take names of animals that they resemble or share traits with, traits that they show, that type of thing (if that helps clarify what I'm asking).
[/size]

A good question, if I am understanding it correctly. I am upset, however. I am a guy and I have a name that suits a woman more. The name may be gender neutral but if you don't mind id like to say this name.

I think a name that describes me well is Pandora. I could explain in detail but for anyone who does not know of Pandora's box, I can sum it up with how it relates to me. I am sometimes very hard to get to open up. I have built up emotions from years upon years, as do many. I am not good with releasing it. I can put a face on easily. I don't mean to sound like a pity party. What Im trying to say is when people have opened me up, my closest friends, we have stamped our friendship card forever. I suppose I sound rather arrogant. I don't feel like I have awesome characteristics, it's just I am hard to open, but I think you'll like what you find. :)

I grew up feeling like my given name was not me. Even as a wee tiny little kid I would keep picking out random names to call myself seeing what name fit the best! In 4th grade I landed on Diana, and my name has been Diana ever since. :D

I'd be fine if I were named Zen actually. But when I was little I wanted to be called Crystal. Looking back on it now, I have no idea why I wanted that name. O.o It doesn't quite suit me. My full name is Jennifer, but I shorten it to Jenn. It... Kinda feels like my name? Kinda. I've always been really iffy about how common the name Jennifer is.