Mitten's Drawings

M

Mittens83

Original poster
Okay, so this took me five hours to color and shade, I started right after work. Ugh. I never knew this would take this long, I didn't draw it though, I just did the coloring and shading. I would give credit to whoever drew this picture, but I don't know who did it so.... :P Sorry!

First shading.jpg

I'm open to criticism but please remember this is my first coloring and shading using a tablet! ^^ Although I must say...I absolutely LOVE the way the eyes turned out, I though I ruined them, but I love them! :D

I think you have a good eye for colour! But for shading, don't be afraid to be BOLD. Think of where your light source is coming from, what colour it is, and the type (spotlight, omni directional, etc) before you start shading! An example (I hope you don't mind... I do this for a living. xD;' I'm not perfect, but here's a rough idea)

First shading1.png First shading2.png First shading3.png

It's a bit sloppy since I don't have access to the individual layers and it's just a rough work-over, but hopefully you can see what I'm driving at! Experiment with colour, play with different light types & sources! You may want to look at basic colour theory to understand which colours look good together, and which don't, and how light plays off of different types of surfaces. :] I hope this helps!

Edit: how I did this -- (or would have, had I layer access):

- picked colour palette / light source&type
- used a "rough" brush (one with a texture on it, but that's not necessary) to roughly lay down shades
- used a blending tool (I don't recommend blurring, depending on your program they'll either have it, or you can download custom brushes [mainly PS]) to blend colours/fade the edges.

Your shadings are amazing, thank you for sharing your awesomeness haha ^^ I don't mind at all, I love being showed what would look better or what to do to make my pictures look better, as I had said, this is my first time doing this.