Just Shocked.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

4everDifferent

Original poster
I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing on 9/11/01. I Can take you to the spot in the classroom where I sat when the secretary burst in the classroom and told us to turn the tv on. I remember it still as if it were yesterday.

Now, going on fourteen years later, I am a teacher in the same high school I grew up in. Today, we decided to show a movie today that followed the 102 minutes of that fateful day. The overall attitude was solemn, they were quiet and respectful....

Until they saw people falling out of the buildings.

Insert splat sounds and snickering.

I realize that the students in my class were pooping in diapers or no older than six, but to have so little respect for one of the nation's darkest times in this young century is shocking. I spoke up for silence and when class was over, I pulled them aside and proceed with the talk.

I said, "This isn't a movie that Hollywood put together. Those were real people who could find no solution to a hopeless situation. Some simply fell, while others jumped. Those were real people who died real deaths and left behind real families. Show a little respect."

I got the customary, we got in trouble look, before they scurried off to class.

I'm just curious, anyone else experience this or things like it? Maybe it wasn't about 9/11 but something else.

Reactions: Asmodeus
A lot of my online friends from other sites (Many in their 30's) would make the same jokes.
In fact they made this video about it (it's a group channel. I technically have access to it but I never use it personally).

As for my personal opinion however?

I think when you're in a middle of something like your class where the whole purpose is be respectful and remember, then people should be mature and respectful about it.

But once outside of said situations? I don't hold any issues with dark humor and jokes made about it.