I'm unsure if roleplaying's for me. What does it mean to you?

T

thempress

Yo - I've been roleplaying since I was a kiddo and lately, I've been hesitant about re-dedicating to the hobby. The short version is that I'm a shy writer already -- it's hard to tell whether wanting to return to roleplay is just me clinging to an old comfort zone.

There's only so much self-scrutiny I can do, so naturally, I want to return to a roleplay forum to ask you all your experiences! Mainly, has roleplay benefited your creative process, if you're a creative writer, and through what forms? One-on-one, or group, or tabletop... What have you "gotten" from roleplaying throughout the years?

Browsing around overwhelmed me with all these ideas I've thought up overtime, from settings to plot prompts to characters. And for a long time I celebrated roleplay as a way to get me writing. But getting involved in some forums recently has me miss the genuine writing process: the ability to rough-draft, edit, and revise; the ability to control a narrative without relying on other people or the roll of the DM's dice. At the same time, I really am writing and experimenting more through these forums than I am on my own. Plus, random elements on top of the interjections of others make for addicting writing prompts!

Roleplaying for me has been a mixed bag for me, I have done a few groups but most of my experiences were in fact one-on-one over the past years. (2 here on Iwaku, 2 on another and 8 on another, 1 on a game site).
Throughout the years I got my share of good people and most bad ones in recent attempts.
I done roleplay to at least be able to express what I had in my mind at the time when it came to a fandom or something i was into because of how good it was or the fact the characters drew me in.