???
Original poster
FOLKLORE MEMBER
Posting Speed
  1. One post per day
  2. 1-3 posts per week
  3. One post per week
Online Availability
Shake a tin of dice and tell me what numbers they give you.
Writing Levels
  1. Adept
  2. Advanced
  3. Adaptable
Preferred Character Gender
  1. Male
Genres
Sci-Fi, Fantasy, an assortment of others. Ask and you shall receive (an answer).
Check it -->

That neat or what?

giphy.gif

It's more than neat... as the guy in the video said, it's hard to overstate the importance of this. As a physicist I'm very excited. :3 plus, as opposed to the false discovery of a while back, this one has a statistical significance of about 5.1 sigma... or, if I recall correctly, only about a 1 in 270000 chance of being wrong.

Also, what was sort of glossed over is that this is actually also the first ever observation of the merging of stellar-mass black holes, which are theorised to be the origin of the supermassive black holes we believe lie at the centre of galaxies. That in itself is monumental news, as black holes are very very difficult to observe - it's just being overshadowed by the HOLY FUCK GRAVITATIONAL WAVES hype.

A long time ago in a Galaxy far far away...

Something seriously awesome and on a whole other scale of "Cool from here, Deathly terrifying if over there" has happened. :P

So.. Practicality?

... Anything?

I love science-y shit as much as the next faux nerd following the geek trend too but.. What does it mean for anyone who has no idea WHAT IT MEANS

So.. Practicality?

... Anything?

I love science-y shit as much as the next faux nerd following the geek trend too but.. What does it mean for anyone who has no idea WHAT IT MEANS
Well, think about the invention of the telescope and how much of a difference that must've made for astronomers during that time; without it, we couldn't possibly know what we know today about space.