Finding a game that fits the character

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

Kingof192

Original poster
Hey guys. I'm new to Iwaku. I'm seeing a lot of interesting stuff here, not the least of which is boards like this where people can talk about ideas and problems and such. That's really cool, and I hope somebody here can help me a bit. Have you ever wanted to do something you thought would be simple in and RP and it turn out really frustrating somehow?

I'm new to Iwaku, but not to roleplaying and writing. I started playing Dungeons and Dragons before it even became advanced (yes, there was a basic D&D). All of that became part of my life and I just kept going on and on with different characters and games and so on. Eventually, I went so far that kind of left it behind. Now I'm a professional actor, and have even been paid to do dramatic improv.

Or at least, I thought I left it behind, because after I did that dramatic improv show I developed a desire to write about two specific characters from an anime. Something about both who they are and what they do moves me deeply.

So I came back to writing fanfiction, which has been good and satisfying. My stuff is moving people within the fandom to the same kind of tears and sentimentality I'm trying to reach, and I've got a lot of views for a story about an older IP.

I also wanted to try some online RP because to really explore the character's personalities I felt I needed a world where things were happening that I could not control.

That has been giving me a lot of trouble. I thought I found something once, but the GM quit and made me a co-GM, but I didn't have enough trust from the team to keep the world going. I left very frustrated with the RP format and trying to co-write with internet strangers.