• Yes: It was a good experience.

Votes: 2 20.0%
  • Yes: It was a bad experience.

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • Yes: It was alright.

• No, but I have thought about it.

Votes: 3 30.0%
  • No, and I'm not particularly interested.

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jerelin

Original poster
A friend recently asked me if I would like to go with her to donate plasma. I know you get paid for it (which is a nice incentive given what I am about to say, haha), but I have also heard that it can be relatively painful. I am the type of person who gives blood every time that I am eligible, so I am used to that process. Plasma donation, on the other hand, I have no experience with.

So, have you ever donated plasma? If so, can you describe your experience?
If not, have you ever considered it? Will you ever consider it?

Here's a bit of info for you, if you're interested in learning about it. I've read a lot about it, but I want to hear some first-hand experiences! Thanks! :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Well I didn't get paid for it, I was just doing it for good karma. It wasn't painful per se, but it was odd. They take out your blood put it through a centrifuge and return the red blood cells with some saline (or something to make up the volume lost from the plasma taken). It was the return of the blood that was where things got weird. There was a sting when it started to pump back in, like the pressure made needle jump but it continued since it was forcing the liquid back into you. Also the returning fluid was colder than I was so I got chilled, but cold from the inside out. My lips were cold, but from the inside and there was something like an ice cream-headache going on in my skull. They usually have blankets and stuff but that is of limited help. I recall a sour taste in my mouth too. I did it a few times so it obviously wasn't unbearable and it is so helpful that it was worth it to me.

Hope that is of some help to you.

• Thank You
Reactions: 1 person