Conventions!

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Razilin

Original poster
I am an avid and veteran con-goer, always looking for another place to explore and another city to go sightseeing in.

The one I'm the most attached to (because its relatively close, in a city I absolutely love and enjoy playing in, and was the first con I ever went to, as well as the one I most regularly frequent) is Anime Central.

BUT TODAY I WENT TO A BRAND NEW ONE.

Wizard World Comic Con Indianapolis is the first time WW has been in Indy, evidently. And it got quite a few big name celebrities in the geekerverse:

Ray Park
William Shatner
The Bella Twins
Fred and Oliver Phelps
Karen Gillian

and my two highlights

Jason David Frank -- the original Green Power Ranger

and Lou Ferrigno -- 70sHulkIsBestHulk

and duuuude, Ferrigno is in his sixties and still stacked like a mountain. He's a monster and obviously still religiously working out. And as nice as all get out.

And I got an autograph from JDF. Guy knows how to work a crowd and build up energy wherever he goes. Pretty cool guy. Still a legit fighter, too, so that's always awesome for a fellow martial artist. Guy's in his 40s, but still looks as young as he did in the 90s.

I'm hoping to get all my pics and stuff up so I can put it in this thread.

But now I want to hear about your convention experiences!

I've been to the NMA con (north Michigan Anime convention) once. it was okay. I've been to Grand Con twice. Grand Con is based solely on board and tabletop games. I got a copy of Triple Triad featuring FF characters and learned about a fucking awesome game called Folklore The Affliction being made by local guys. Unfortunately I didn't see the Greater than Games guys so I couldn't play my favorite game. I'm hoping to go again this year. I'm not big on anime conventions nor am I big on comics. So Grand Con is perfect for me. It also introduced me to my favorite card game ever: Sentinels of the Multiverse. Friggin awesome.